Software vendor
Optro (formerly AuditBoard)
Optro, formerly AuditBoard, sells a GRC platform used for SOX controls management, with AI-assisted fieldwork and agents that run control tests.
Function
- Ownership
- Not stated
Not stated in the sources read. EDGAR lists Form D exempt-offering notices filed by AuditBoard HoldCo L.P.; that does not establish ownership.
- Headquarters
- United StatesSourceOptro home page (AI-Powered GRC Software)
- SEC reporting
- NoSourceSEC EDGAR company search and submissions API results for vendor names (queries listed in the excerpt)
- Audit firm
- No
- Website
- SourceOptro home page (AI-Powered GRC Software)
- Subprocessor list
- Not stated
- Contract terms
- Not stated
Offering · Software
Optro (formerly AuditBoard) controls management and autonomous testing with Optro AI
Optro, the new name of AuditBoard, sells a governance, risk and compliance platform whose users include finance teams responsible for internal controls and SOX compliance. SourcesOptro home page (AI-Powered GRC Software)What is Optro? Your guide to the AI-powered GRC platform (blog)
Its controls management module uses AI to generate planning narratives and flowcharts and to assist fieldwork from sample selection to tickmarking evidence. SourceControls management software (Optro product page)
Its autonomous testing product, which Optro says came from its acquisition of Midship, uses AI agents that run attribute tests on uploaded evidence such as user access reviews and reconciliations and assemble Excel workpapers linked to the source. SourceAutonomous testing software (Optro product page)
Optro names in-house machine learning models and Microsoft Azure OpenAI as the technology behind Optro AI. SourceAI that speaks GRC (Optro AI platform page, including FAQs)
Where it fits
CoE analysis Fits SOX programs and internal audit, where agents performing control tests produce workpapers that external auditors may review. SourceAutonomous testing software (Optro product page)
CoE analysis Optro asks that all AI-generated deliverables pass through practitioner review before acceptance, which makes reviewer evidence part of the control. SourceAI that speaks GRC (Optro AI platform page, including FAQs)
What it does
- Offering type
- SoftwareSourceWhat is Optro? Your guide to the AI-powered GRC platform (blog)
- Workflow areas
- SourcesWhat is Optro? Your guide to the AI-powered GRC platform (blog)Controls management software (Optro product page)Autonomous testing software (Optro product page)
- SOX and controls
- Audit and internal audit
- Customer size
- EnterpriseSourceOptro home page (AI-Powered GRC Software)
AI
- Kind of AI
- SourcesControls management software (Optro product page)Autonomous testing software (Optro product page)AI that speaks GRC (Optro AI platform page, including FAQs)
- Built into the platform
- Agents and automated actions
- Established machine learning and rules
- Suggests or acts
- Suggests and actsSourcesAutonomous testing software (Optro product page)AI that speaks GRC (Optro AI platform page, including FAQs)
- Availability
- Not stated
Optro AI is opt-in for customers through their customer success manager. Optro lists unstructured data ingestion, autonomous test execution and workpaper generation as 'now available', with no generally available or preview wording.
- Models named
- SourceAI that speaks GRC (Optro AI platform page, including FAQs)
- Microsoft Azure OpenAI
Control
- Who controls it
- SourceAI that speaks GRC (Optro AI platform page, including FAQs)
- Customer finance team
- Individual user
Commercial
- Pricing model
- Not stated
- Public price
- Not stated
Evidence
- Independent outcomes
- None found in the sources read.
- Sources read
- Vendor-stated 11
- Independent market evidence None read
- Independently verified outcomes None read
- Pricing None read
- Known limitations 1
- Coverage
- Directory record
- Last verified
Security and control
- Single sign-on
- Not covered in this record
- User provisioning
- Not covered in this record
- Role-based access
- Not covered in this record
- Administrator controls for AI
- Not covered in this record
- Audit logs
- Not covered in this record
- Certifications
- Not covered in this record
- Data retention
- Not covered in this record
- Data residency
- Not covered in this record
- Training on customer data
- Not covered in this record
AI features
As the vendor or firm describes them. Notes in small print record what the sources leave open.
Autonomous testing agents
AI agents independently run attribute tests across uploaded evidence, document every step, and assemble Excel workpapers linked to source evidence; delivered through a web application and a native Excel add-in, from Optro's acquisition of Midship.
- Kind
- Agents and automated actions
- Suggests or acts
- Acts
- Who controls it
- Not stated
- Availability
- Not stated
Control: Not stated.
SourceAutonomous testing software (Optro product page)AI-assisted fieldwork and planning documentation
Generates planning narratives and flowcharts from notes and policies; assists sample selection and tickmarking of audit evidence.
- Kind
- Built into the platform
- Suggests or acts
- Suggests
- Who controls it
- Individual user
- Availability
- Not stated
Control: Practitioner review before acceptance, per the FAQ.
SourcesControls management software (Optro product page)AI that speaks GRC (Optro AI platform page, including FAQs)Intelligent Recommendations
Optro says Optro AI visualizes relationships between controls, frameworks and requirements with intelligent recommendations and mappings and, as frameworks evolve, identifies changes, impacted controls and potential compliance gaps; it separately says Intelligent Recommendations use in-house machine learning models.
- Kind
- Established machine learning and rules
- Suggests or acts
- Suggests
- Who controls it
- Not stated
- Availability
- Not stated
Control: Not stated.
SourceAI that speaks GRC (Optro AI platform page, including FAQs)
Unclear or conflicting statements
Where the sources are unclear or disagree, both statements are shown with their links.
Model training and customer feedback
Statement B
We strive for a high level of quality and accuracy and are continuously updating our models based on customer feedback.
Both statements are on the same FAQ; whether customer feedback counts as customer data is not explained. Recorded as unclear under D-143; not resolved.
Questions to ask
For this offering
- When an autonomous testing agent concludes a test, who signs off, and does the workpaper record the agent, the model version and the evidence it skipped or could not read?
- Has our external auditor reviewed workpapers produced by autonomous testing, and what did they require?
- How does Optro update its models based on customer feedback without using customer data for training?
- Do Optro's SOC reports cover Optro AI and autonomous testing, and in which Azure regions is our data processed?
- Under the name change from AuditBoard, which legal entity contracts with us, and do existing agreements and data protection terms carry over?
From the diligence question set
- DQ-02 Which AI features depend on models, data or services from third parties, and how do you assess and monitor those providers?
- DQ-06 Does each feature suggest or act? Can it create, post, approve or change records, and where is that limit enforced?
- DQ-12 Does the feature learn from our data, including corrections and overrides, and how does it detect and handle changes in our business?
- DQ-13 What does the system record for each AI output or action, and can we export and keep those records for as long as we need them?
- DQ-14 Does your service auditor's report cover the AI features we would use, for what period, and which controls does it expect us to operate?
- DQ-16 Is our data, including inputs, outputs, documents and corrections, used to train or improve any model, yours or a third party's? Is that off by default, and is the commitment in the contract?
