Professional services firm
Capgemini
Capgemini, listed on Euronext Paris, offers Frictionless Finance: AI-augmented order-to-cash, purchase-to-pay and record-to-analyze operations.
Function
- Ownership
- PublicSourcesCapital structure (Capgemini Investors)EDGAR submissions record for Capgemini SE/ADR (CIK 0001688228)
Capgemini SE shares trade on Euronext Paris (primary exchange) and are in the CAC 40, per its investor capital-structure page; it does not file 10-K or 20-F reports with the SEC.
- Headquarters
- FranceSourceTerms of use (capgemini.com, US)
Based on the Paris registered office of Capgemini Service SAS, which coordinates Capgemini SE's websites, and Euronext Paris as the primary listing; the registration document was not read.
- SEC reporting
- NoSourceEDGAR submissions record for Capgemini SE/ADR (CIK 0001688228)
- Audit firm
- No
No statutory audit practice is described in the sources read; the flag is false on that basis, not on an independently sourced negative.
- Website
- SourceFrictionless Finance Transformation
- Subprocessor list
- Not stated
- Contract terms
- Not stated
Offering · Managed service
Capgemini Frictionless Finance (AI.Controllership, AI.Payables, AI.Receivables)
Capgemini describes Frictionless Finance as AI-augmented order-to-cash, purchase-to-pay, record-to-analyze and analytics, delivered through an AI-enabled framework, an AI-augmented workforce and AI-driven operating models. SourceFrictionless Finance Transformation
It makes use of Capgemini's Digital Global Enterprise Model (D-GEM), which Capgemini calls an AI-based business transformation platform. SourceFrictionless Finance Transformation
AI.Controllership infuses AI into accounting, reconciliation, close, reporting and compliance to enable continuous accounting and close. SourceAI.Controllership
AI.Payables and AI.Receivables apply AI to exception handling in payables and to cash and collections. SourcesFrictionless Finance TransformationAI.Receivables
Where it fits
CoE analysis A finance operations service packaged into named AI solutions by process tower, presented as a Capgemini-run service rather than as software.
The benefit figures are stated as 'up to' potentials and, for receivables, are worded inconsistently across Capgemini's own pages. SourceFrictionless Finance Transformation
What it does
- Offering type
- Managed serviceSourceFrictionless Finance Transformation
- Workflow areas
- SourcesFrictionless Finance TransformationAI.ControllershipAI.Receivables
- Receivables and collections
- Accounts payable
- Close
- Reconciliation
- Reporting and disclosure
- Finance data and analytics
- Customer size
- Not stated
AI
- Kind of AI
- SourcesFrictionless Finance TransformationAI.Controllership
- Established machine learning and rules
- Agents and automated actions
- Suggests or acts
- Not stated
- Availability
- Not stated
The pages read describe the solutions as offered; no availability, edition or regional terms.
- Models named
- Not stated
Control
- Who controls it
- Professional services firmSourceFrictionless Finance Transformation
Commercial
- Pricing model
- Not stated
- Public price
- Not stated
Evidence
- Independent outcomes
- None found in the sources read.
- Sources read
- Vendor-stated 6
- Independent market evidence None read
- Independently verified outcomes None read
- Pricing 1
- Known limitations None read
- Coverage
- Directory record
- Last verified
Delivery and lock-in
- Delivery model
- Not stated
- Run service offered
- Not stated
- Team qualifications published
- The pages profile four leaders by role (undated author biographies): the Global Head of the IFAO practice (over 15 years in F&A consulting and BPO service delivery), the Chief Innovation Officer of Capgemini's Business Services (over three decades advising on technology adoption), the Record to Analyze Global Process Owner (over 20 years in finance and accounting, the last 12 transforming clients' processes and operations) and the Forecast to Cash Global Process Owner (has led major C2C projects). They publish no qualification criteria or team size for delivery teams. [C-5111] [C-5114] [C-5117]SourcesFrictionless Finance TransformationAI.ControllershipAI.Receivables
- IP and post-engagement license
- Not stated
Not stated in the sources read.
- Savings claims (firm-stated)
- SourcesFrictionless Finance TransformationAI.ReceivablesAI.Controllership
Stated by the firm, not verified
up to 50% improvement in days sales outstanding (solution level)
Stated as an "up to" potential benefit. The same page and the AI.Receivables page give 40% for AI.Receivables (recorded under conflicts). No baseline, population, period, or treatment of service fees is stated.
up to 40% improvement in days sales outstanding (AI.Receivables)
Footnoted: "These outcomes are dependent on the maturity level of your finance organization." [C-5115] No baseline, population, period, or treatment of service fees is stated.
up to 35% increase in efficiency (AI.Receivables)
Footnoted as dependent on the maturity level of the finance organization. No baseline, population, period, or treatment of service fees is stated.
up to 50% auto-certifications and reconciliation effort reduction (AI.Controllership)
Footnoted: "These outcomes are dependent on the maturity level of your finance organization." [C-5113] No baseline, population, period, or treatment of service fees is stated.
up to 70% reduction of close and reporting effort (AI.Controllership)
Footnoted as dependent on the maturity level of the finance organization. [C-5113] No baseline, population, period, or treatment of service fees is stated.
up to 25% increases in early payment discounting (AI.Payables)
Stated as a "measurable potential benefit". No baseline, population, period, or treatment of service fees is stated.
up to 50% reductions in manual vendors master data management (AI.Payables)
Stated as a "measurable potential benefit". No baseline, population, period, or treatment of service fees is stated.
- Alliance partners
- SourceAI.Receivables
- HighRadius
Heading of an article tile dated March 21, 2023 on the AI.Receivables page; the article was not read, and the page states no terms.
Security and control
- Single sign-on
- Not covered in this record
- User provisioning
- Not covered in this record
- Role-based access
- Not covered in this record
- Administrator controls for AI
- Not covered in this record
- Audit logs
- Not covered in this record
- Certifications
- Not covered in this record
- Data retention
- Not covered in this record
- Data residency
- Not covered in this record
- Training on customer data
- Not covered in this record
AI features
As the vendor or firm describes them. Notes in small print record what the sources leave open.
AI.Controllership
Infuses AI into accounting, reconciliation, close, reporting and compliance; up to 80% automatic posting of journal entries and a one-to-two-day close are stated.
- Kind
- Established machine learning and rules, Agents and automated actions
- Suggests or acts
- Not stated
- Who controls it
- Professional services firm
- Availability
- Not stated
Control: Not stated.
Kind: Kind is CoE analysis: the pages do not use the word agent; agents-actions rests on the stated automatic posting of journal entries.
SourceAI.ControllershipAI.Payables
Infuses AI into accounts payable to eliminate repetitive tasks such as exception handling and insight dashboard creation.
- Kind
- Established machine learning and rules
- Suggests or acts
- Not stated
- Who controls it
- Professional services firm
- Availability
- Not stated
Control: Not stated.
SourceFrictionless Finance TransformationAI.Receivables
Infuses AI into cash and collections processes; up to 90% increase in automatching for cash application is stated.
- Kind
- Established machine learning and rules
- Suggests or acts
- Not stated
- Who controls it
- Professional services firm
- Availability
- Not stated
Control: Not stated.
SourceAI.ReceivablesD-GEM
Capgemini's Digital Global Enterprise Model, described as an AI-based business transformation platform underpinning the solution.
- Kind
- Established machine learning and rules
- Suggests or acts
- Not stated
- Who controls it
- Professional services firm
- Availability
- Not stated
Control: Not stated.
SourceFrictionless Finance Transformation
Unclear or conflicting statements
Where the sources are unclear or disagree, both statements are shown with their links.
AI.Receivables days sales outstanding benefit
Statement A
AI.Receivables page: "Up to 40% improvement in days sales outstanding"
Statement B
Frictionless Finance page, AI.Receivables section: "up to 40% increases in days sales outstanding"
Recorded, not resolved (D-143). The conflict is the wording: "improvement" on the AI.Receivables page, "increases" on the Frictionless Finance page; an increase in days sales outstanding would be adverse, and the pages do not explain the wording. The Frictionless Finance page's separate "up to 50% improvement in days sales outstanding" is a solution-level figure, a difference of scope rather than part of the conflict.
Questions to ask
For this offering
- Will you provide a SOC 1 Type 2 report for the outsourced finance processes, and does its scope include the AI platform and agents used to deliver them, including changes to models and prompts?
- Which steps do agents or automation complete without a person approving them (for example posting entries, clearing reconciliations or releasing payments), and how are those thresholds set, changed and evidenced?
- Which technology platforms (Capgemini's or third parties') deliver AI.Controllership, AI.Payables and AI.Receivables in our scope, and who licenses them?
- Is our data used to train, tune or improve any model, rule or shared knowledge base, including one used for other clients, and where is it processed and retained?
- Can you show the population, baseline and period behind the outcome figures you publish, and will you commit to any of them in the contract as service levels?
- If we end the engagement, which assets, configurations, agent definitions and data do we keep, and in what form?
From the diligence question set
- DQ-31 Who, by name and role, will design, build, test and run the AI in our finance process, and what AI has each of those people personally put into production?
- DQ-32 How does your firm decide that someone is qualified to build or govern AI for financial reporting, and who outside the delivery team reviews model risk before anything goes live?
- DQ-33 When the engagement ends, what will we own and be able to run ourselves, and what will work only with your firm? On what terms are your accelerators licensed afterward, and what does it cost to leave a run service?
- DQ-34 What will this cost in years two to five, including run fees, platform licenses, AI usage fees and change requests, and how does that compare with the savings case once the internal oversight roles we keep are counted?
- DQ-35 Do you receive fees, rebates, resale margins or other incentives from the software you are recommending, and do you, or will you, audit our financial statements?
- DQ-36 What results from clients like us can you show that someone other than your firm has verified, and by what method?
