Software vendor
Avalara
Avalara, owned by Vista Equity-advised funds since 2022, sells tax calculation, returns and exemption certificate software with Aviator AI agents.
Function
- Ownership
- Private equitySourceAvalara, Inc. Current Report on Form 8-K filed October 19, 2022 (completion of merger)
Became a wholly owned subsidiary of an entity formed by affiliates of funds advised by Vista Equity Partners on October 19, 2022 (Form 8-K); no later change was examined.
- Headquarters
- United StatesSourceSEC EDGAR submissions index for Avalara, Vertex, Zuora and Thomson Reuters
- SEC reporting
- NoSourceSEC EDGAR submissions index for Avalara, Vertex, Zuora and Thomson Reuters
- Audit firm
- No
- Website
- SourceAvalara home page
Offering · Software
Avalara tax compliance (AvaTax, Returns, Exemption Certificate Management) with Aviator AI agents
Avalara's products for tax teams include AvaTax, AvaTax for Accounts Payable, Avalara Returns, Exemption Certificate Management and Avalara Tax Research, and Avalara says its products serve businesses of all sizes. SourcesAvalara Aviator (agent hub product page)Avalara pricing page
Aviator, which Avalara calls its agent hub, adds an orchestrator agent and specialized agents for transactions, returns, research and certificates. SourceAvalara Aviator (agent hub product page)
Avalara says generative AI handles orchestration, document extraction and statutory synthesis on top of its deterministic tax engine, and that return submissions, rule overrides and exemption approvals require explicit human sign-off. SourceAvalara Aviator (agent hub product page)
Where it fits
CoE analysis Indirect tax determination and returns filing alongside the ERP and billing systems, for tax and accounts payable teams that own sales and use tax.
CoE analysis Avalara describes the Returns agent both as filing automatically and as needing sign-off for submissions, so a buyer should confirm which steps run without approval in its own account.
What it does
- Offering type
- SoftwareSourceAvalara Aviator (agent hub product page)
- Workflow areas
- SourceAvalara Aviator (agent hub product page)
- Tax
- Accounts payable
- Customer size
- SourceAvalara pricing page
- Small business
- Mid-market
- Enterprise
AI
- Kind of AI
- SourcesAvalara Aviator (agent hub product page)Avalara home page
- Built into the platform
- Agents and automated actions
- Established machine learning and rules
- Suggests or acts
- Suggests and actsSourceAvalara Aviator (agent hub product page)
- Availability
- Not stated
The Aviator FAQ says Aviator works today with five Avalara products and comes standard for new customers, but that existing customers get access at renewal following General Availability, which the page does not date (recorded as a D-143 conflict).
- Models named
- Not stated
Control
- Who controls it
- VendorSourceAvalara Legal Center: Avalara Service Terms and Conditions (Version 7.1) and Subprocessors (Version 11.0)
Vendor here means Avalara changes the AI functionality and publishes material changes in release notes, notifications or documentation (Service Terms, C-3917). Customers can set up and configure Avi's connections (C-3906), but the customer role that does so is not named, so no customer role is recorded.
Commercial
- Pricing model
- Usage-basedSourceAvalara pricing page
- Public price
- USD 699SourceAvalara pricing page
Tax Calculation and Returns Compliance Package, "Pricing starts at $699"
Evidence
- Independent outcomes
- None found in the sources read.
- Sources read
- Vendor-stated 15
- Independent market evidence None read
- Independently verified outcomes None read
- Pricing 3
- Known limitations 1
- Coverage
- Directory record
- Last verified
Security and control
- Single sign-on
- Not covered in this record
- User provisioning
- Not covered in this record
- Role-based access
- Not covered in this record
- Administrator controls for AI
- Not covered in this record
- Audit logs
- Not covered in this record
- Certifications
- Not covered in this record
- Data retention
- Not covered in this record
- Data residency
- Not covered in this record
- Training on customer data
- Not covered in this record
AI features
As the vendor or firm describes them. Notes in small print record what the sources leave open.
Avi (orchestrator agent)
Assigns work to lead agents, flags risks and keeps humans in control of critical approvals; can be set up to interact with business applications.
- Kind
- Agents and automated actions
- Suggests or acts
- Suggests and acts
- Who controls it
- Not stated
- Availability
- Not stated
Control: Not stated in the sources read. Avalara describes setting up and configuring Avi's connections to business applications but does not name the role that does so.
SourceAvalara Aviator (agent hub product page)Transactions agent
Automates tax calculations, explains line-item determinations and verifies transaction data in real time, on Avalara's deterministic tax engine.
- Kind
- Agents and automated actions, Established machine learning and rules
- Suggests or acts
- Acts
- Who controls it
- Not stated
- Availability
- Not stated
Control: Not stated in the sources read.
SourceAvalara Aviator (agent hub product page)Returns agent
Prepares, reconciles and files tax returns automatically across thousands of jurisdictions; the FAQ says return submissions require explicit human sign-off.
- Kind
- Agents and automated actions
- Suggests or acts
- Suggests and acts
- Who controls it
- Not stated
- Availability
- Not stated
Control: Not stated in the sources read.
SourceAvalara Aviator (agent hub product page)Research agent
Named as one of Aviator's specialized agents; Avalara Tax Research is listed as Aviator-ready.
- Kind
- Agents and automated actions
- Suggests or acts
- Suggests
- Who controls it
- Not stated
- Availability
- Not stated
Control: Not stated in the sources read.
SourceAvalara Aviator (agent hub product page)Certificates agent
Verifies exemption certificates, tax IDs and registration status in real time; exemption approvals require human sign-off.
- Kind
- Agents and automated actions
- Suggests or acts
- Suggests
- Who controls it
- Not stated
- Availability
- Not stated
Control: Not stated in the sources read.
SourceAvalara Aviator (agent hub product page)AI item classification and e-invoicing agents
Assigns tax codes, HS codes and product classifications using AI trained on a catalog of over 3 billion items; AI agents create, validate and map e-invoice data to country mandates.
- Kind
- Built into the platform, Established machine learning and rules
- Suggests or acts
- Not stated
- Who controls it
- Not stated
- Availability
- Not stated
Control: Not stated in the sources read.
SourceAvalara home page
Unclear or conflicting statements
Where the sources are unclear or disagree, both statements are shown with their links.
Aviator availability for existing customers
Statement A
FAQ: Aviator works today with AvaTax, AvaTax for Accounts Payable, Returns, Exemption Certificate Management and Tax Research.
avalara.com/us/en/products/aviator.html
FAQ: Which products are Aviator-ready?
Statement B
FAQ: existing customers are automatically granted access at their next AvaTax or Returns renewal following General Availability.
avalara.com/us/en/products/aviator.html
FAQ: How long does it take to get set up?
The page does not date General Availability; whether Aviator is generally available on the check date is unclear.
Whether the Returns agent files without human approval
Statement A
Agent card: the Returns agent prepares, reconciles and files tax returns automatically across thousands of jurisdictions.
avalara.com/us/en/products/aviator.html
The agent hub (agent cards)
Statement B
FAQ: return submissions and other high-liability actions require explicit human sign-off.
avalara.com/us/en/products/aviator.html
FAQ: Does Aviator facilitate payments, file returns, or make other autonomous decisions without human oversight?
Unclear rather than contradictory: automatic preparation may precede a signed-off submission; the page does not say where the approval sits.
Accuracy figures
Statement A
Aviator page: 6.6M+ tax returns filed in 2025 with 99.95% accuracy.
avalara.com/us/en/products/aviator.html
Scale and proof
Statement B
Home page: 99.999% accuracy, without saying what is measured.
avalara.com/us/en/index.html
Avalara powers millions of businesses worldwide
Different or unstated bases; neither page gives a method.
Questions to ask
For this offering
- Is Aviator generally available in our account today, or will it switch on at our next renewal, and can we keep it off or limit which agents run?
- Which Aviator steps run without approval, in particular return preparation, reconciliation and filing, and where in the product is the sign-off for submissions enforced and logged?
- Which AI models sit behind ALFA, which providers process our transaction data, and why does the subprocessor list name no AI provider?
- Do the Service Terms' AI provisions (no training on Customer Data or Output, notice of material changes) apply to our current agreement, or only from our renewal on or after January 1, 2027?
- If we connect our own AI agents through Avalara's APIs or MCP servers, how do we allocate responsibility for their errors, given the Customer Agents clause?
- Does Aviator change our price, transaction counts or volume tiers, and what do the starting prices on Avalara's pricing page cover, and for what term?
From the diligence question set
- DQ-04 Which AI features are in the modules and edition we license, or would license, and is each generally available, in preview or beta, a paid add-on, or limited by edition or region?
- DQ-05 Which AI features are switched on by default, which does an administrator have to enable, and can each be switched off on its own?
- DQ-06 Does each feature suggest or act? Can it create, post, approve or change records, and where is that limit enforced?
- DQ-07 Who can change each feature's configuration, prompts, thresholds, data connections or model: your company, our administrators or individual users? Can we restrict and log those changes?
- DQ-16 Is our data, including inputs, outputs, documents and corrections, used to train or improve any model, yours or a third party's? Is that off by default, and is the commitment in the contract?
- DQ-19 How are the AI features priced: included in the subscription, sold as an add-on or higher tier, or metered by use? What is the billing unit?
